Roles and Access Groups each provide a level of customization that allows you to configure exactly what someone can and cannot do or see while logged into CROSStrax.


Roles

While creating a user in your system, you will be prompted to choose what Role they will serve in your system.  Think of roles as containers that hold a collection of permissions.  Each role can be customized to enable the availability of certain permissions.   Naturally, roles will often mirror the actual positions inside your company, such as Investigators, Case Managers, and Salespeople.  


Permissions control access to most features throughout the system.  A company "Role" can have their permissions tweaked to either grant or restrict access to various components within CROSStrax.  Permissions can be configured on a role basis to easily tailor a feature set based on that role's needs.   


There are quite a number permissions, and customizing each person individually would become tedious.  That's why permissions are pre-configured through the use of "Roles".


For example, you could disable a permission to restrict a particular "Investigator Role" from seeing client information or using the integrated email in CROSStrax. You could also disable another permission from a particular "Employee Role"  that allows an employee (Admin) to add or edit billing and expense entries.


See also: Creating and Editing User Roles


Access Groups

An Access Group is the broadest level security configuration within CROSStrax.   Access groups are designed to grant sweeping access to certain things such as case notes and file uploads;  they are essentially containers that hold groups of roles.  


For example, you can use a preset internal access group "Office Only" that consists of your Admin users.   A case update or file upload that is configured with this access group would only be visible to users that were added as an Admin user.  Investigators and clients would not have visibility of these entries.


Access groups are typically identified as Office Only, Investigators, and Clients. Keep in mind, Office Only will always have visibility even when investigator or client are selected.


Check out this video to learn more about Roles and Permissions